When word came down last week that Ryan Adams would—at long last—release the album he’s been teasing for many moons (it drops February 17th), we were predictably ecstatic. When further news arrived that the record, entitled Prisoner, was apparently named after a stomp box—and a rare Jacques analog delay, to boot—we contemplated tossing glitter across the office. (OK, not really.)

Jacques Prisoner

Adams premiered the twelve tracks from the new record—interspersed with older favorites—at an invite-only surprise show at Sydney’s Factory Theatre on December 5th. He has long suggested that the new album will be an anthemic, guitar-oriented offering, and he’s referenced 80s rock, Springsteen, AC/DC, and even ELO as influences.

He’s also discussed the ways in which the end of his marriage to Mandy Moore catalyzed the album’s material. As he recently told The Japan Times: “I started writing this record while I was going through a very public divorce, which is a humiliating and just a fucking horrible thing to go through no matter who you are. To be me and to go through that the way that I did was destructive on a level that I can’t explain. So a lot of extra work went into keeping my chin up and remembering what I did and what I loved about who I was.”

Ryan Adams

The lead single from Prisoner, “Do You Still Love Me?,” amply displays the bombast one might associate with 80s rock, melded with Adams’ inveterate Americana sensibility. Raspy guitars, prominent organ work, soaring vocals, and a face-melting solo—all are on tap.

Check out the audio, below. A track listing for Prisoner follows the song.

Ryan Adams, Prisoner: Tracklist

  1. Do You Still Love Me?
  2. Prisoner
  3. Doomsday
  4. Haunted House
  5. Shiver And Shake
  6. To Be Without You
  7. Anything I Say To You Now
  8. Breakdown
  9. Outbound Train
  10. Broken Anyway
  11. Tightrope
  12. We Disappear